Wiley the coyote: A Wisconsin hunter’s story of love and transformation

Wisconsin Wildlife Ethic-Vote Our Wildlife

DSC00516

This is Patricia’s latest column. After the horrifying news I shared yesterday, I hope this warms your heart and reminds you what we are fighting for. 

“I cannot tell you how this coyote has turned me upside down.  Wiley is a member of our family.  I feel like I am fighting for the life of my relative!” ~ Rick Hanestad, Dunn County, Wisconsin

It is not often that a hunter calls me, asking for help.  In November, I found an urgent message on my answer machine.  I returned the call immediately.  Rick Hanestad, Nascar All American Series driver, life-long hunter/trapper and hound hunter, was calling me to help him save the life of a coyote.

Rick launched into his story.  His father and uncle farm over 1000 acres in western Dunn County.  In March, 2011, his uncle allowed a neighbor to hunt turkeys on his land.  The DNR promotes coyote…

View original post 1,051 more words

Leave a Reply

